Quick Links

Darras Hall

Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search


Early Years Foundation Stage

In Early Years our curriculum is created using the best available evidence on how children learn and reflect the broad range of skills, knowledge and attitudes children need as foundations for good future progress. 


There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our curriculum. These areas of learning and development are equally important and are inter-connected.


The three areas which are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving are the prime areas:

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development


We also focus on four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

These are:

• literacy

• mathematics

• understanding the world

• expressive arts and design


Early Years is the start of a child's learning journey.  All subjects begin in Early Years and we aim to give children the very best foundation for future learning in Key Stage 1 and beyond.  Our Laying the Foundations documents explain what we do in Early Years to form a strong foundation for National Curriculum subjects. 


Our curriculum has no limits or barriers, but instead promotes a love of learning and a determination to succeed where children consistently keep on trying, showing resilience, motivation and high levels of self control.


For more information please see the Statutory Framework document for Early Years.  Our Nursery and Reception classroom videos give you a flavour of Early Years at Darras Hall.